My Experience In Bootcamp So Far -Day3

Adrian Sebuliba
2 min readJul 5, 2017

--

My first day at the Andela bootcamp was July 3. At first, our LFA had invited us as a team for a google hangouts video call for orientation . He welcomed us warmly and even gave us an opportunity to each introduce ourselves . Then he clearly explained what Andela expected from us and walked us through the steps and the Andela Values.

The first day was very informative and challenging. Our LFA helped us become familiar with Trello a project management application, went through the Learning Map and addressed all the Andela values. We were then dismissed from the call to start working to the Self Learning Clinic assignments which had to be submitted before 5:00pm . It was an enjoyable and challenging experience and I loved every step of it.

In the process i learn’t to keep the aspect of time and meeting deadlines whenever im assigned work to do. Not only did i learn to keep time i also learn’t better software development techniques like Test Driven Development(TDD) and git for version control . It was nerve-wracking but my teammates were there every step of the way, guiding and correcting my mistakes. That assitance has proven to be beyond helpful and I’m sure will take me a long way to words becoming a fellow.

Second day, we were assigned Andelabs. At first i met a big challenge performing unit tests. Because i was stranded, I had to look for assitance from my fellow boot-campers on gitter.im and also my teammates who were studying and working remotely too. They offered the assistance that I would not have had had i not been collaborative . I took their suggestions and my problems were solved.

Third day came, the toughest assignment for today was about consuming HTTP web services and APIs. This was a new thing for me to explore however i was prepared. I had to read through some articles online on how to consume webservices with python. I realized that writing tests before the production software is very important. I read through various articles and ebooks online, i understood the program flow and i was able to accomplish my task.

All in all, so far Andela has taught me many beneficial things. To always have an open mind and be willing to work in any type of environment and collaborate with others. What I have learned in the span of less than four days will always be a big part of me growing up. I’m looking forward to taking what I’ve learned and what i will be learning and applying it. I really don’t know where I would be if I didn’t make it through the bootcamp, I would have never learned what I have. I’d like to thank Andela for providing me with this wonderful experience.

--

--